I don’t speak Icelandic…

I was looking at my old entries into the blog and I guess I was supposed to post about my 2018 trip to Europe and never did. Oops! My excuse, my life has been amazingly busy and great so keeping track of my trips has not been a priority.  My sisters have been asking me to restart the blog so let’s try this again. No promises this time. 😉

I am in Iceland this week. I arrived this morning but not my suitcase. Ni modo, I always have spare clothing in my carry on, but it would have been nice to have my long johns here and not stuck in Seattle… tomorrow… at least that is what the airline said.

I am only here for 5 days but have a pretty packed itinerary. Golden Circle tour with an overnight at the Buubble hotel, South Coast tour with a glacier walk, visit the lava caves, watch show at the Harpa Concert Hall and sightseeing in Reykjavik. 😉 Not bad for this being a trip that was planned 2 weeks ago!

Today is pretty blustery outside so doing a lot of indoor “sightseeing” like the Hallsgrimskikja Lutheran church.

If you have read my blog before you know I love to visit old churches. Well this one is very nice but not on my favorite list. It’s not old and it’s too stark and modern for my liking.

I am taking coffee breaks to ward off the wind in between walking to the different places. I was sitting at the Loki Cafe for a long time and where I wrote this post.

Gratinated fish and rye bread for lunch. YUM! In food heaven and my trusty side kick, the Rick Steve travel guide 💕

Yes, I picked this Cafe because of the name. Lol. You see, Loki is my favorite Avenger. 🥰 Bonus, the food is pretty good here too! I had the gratinated fish with the best rye bread I have ever had.

The local folks I have met are very friendly and will answer ALL of my questions – and I ask a lot of ?! I don’t speak Icelandic but everyone here speaks English so we are good. 😊

It’s time to go back outside and brave the rain. Have a show to go to tonight. Some pics below from day 1 in Iceland.

Jet lag was getting to me… lol
One of the main shopping streets in Reijavik… lots of cool little stores

Prime Minister Office right on the Main Street
Harpa concert Hall. Found out too late Joshua Bell was playing here last night 😢
Islandic Sagas in 75min. Funny and definitively catered to tourists like me. Jet lag was winning during the show. Dozed off a couple times! Lol
One last picture of the church before calling it a night.

It’s time to go to sleep. I am looking forward to my Golden Circle tour tomorrow! Enjoy life, it’s too short to do otherwise 😉

Much love, Ana

2 Replies to “I don’t speak Icelandic…”

Leave a comment