Sabbatical Planning…Aug 18

I have 2 more weeks before I leave for my long awaited sabbatical. I will be taking a total of 9 weeks of time off from work. What a blessing! I have been planning this sabbatical for the past 6 months. I have read the Ricks Steves guides, used Trip Advisor, and a few other guides to help me with my research….I changed the travel plans a million times but finally settled on a schedule 2 weeks ago. Whew! 

So here is the plan. We – my kids are coming with me for the first 2 weeks – are visiting Venice, Rome, day trip to Pompeii and hike up Mt Vesuvius, then Paris, and after the kids leave I continue to Bruges, Brussels and London. Only 3 weeks but I know I will be back since the list of other places i want to visit is quite long!  I spent a LOT of time choosing where to stay. Our hotels are small and very quaint, not the std chain hotels. 

I know in all the places we are visiting the people will most likely speak Spanish and  English but to get in this travel mood I have been listening to music in French and Italian. 🙂 I think I can decipher the Italian, not so sure about French. Lol

The second part of my sabbatical will be in Hawaii. I plan to spend 4 awesome weeks living like a local. Lots of hiking, sunbathing and hopefully some island hoping. 

 I will be posting pics and blogging from the different places I visit so stay tuned. Much love! 

Ana 

Leave a comment